Book Lists

Top 5 Character Driven Books

Another Top 5 Tuesday post! This one was a bit difficult for me to compile because I’m not the greatest at identifying books that are character-driven – like that’s not usually something I think about. Update: Now I’ve realised these five books are all all-time favourites – does that mean something??

Here are my top 5 character driven books 🙂

The Raven Boys

This book is really character-driven and also a lot about the characters. And to be honest, the characters are the most (or only) precious things in this series for me, anyway. I read the books because of the characters, I just love them all so much.

My review. 

The Help

I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH. I love the movie just as equally (I know, shocking). I also adore Skeeter, Abileen and Minny. They are my BEST-BOOK FRIENDS (side-note: Shanah, maybe that will be a good Top 5 Tuesday topic? 😉 ). This story is so beautiful I’ve read it three times and cried and laughed every time and also laughed and cried in the movie (which I’ve watched twice). It is a book bursting with emotions.

My review.

To Kill a Mockingbird

Most people read this book at school for compulsory reading. Erhm, not me, no, I read it when I was thirteen… for pleasure. And I absolutely loved it. Then I had to read it for History as well, and we were supposed to read the whole book in a week?? Like for a bookworm (me) that isn’t too much of a challenge but other people in my class? They struggled. I don’t think I even read it then – long live chapter summaries!

Pride and Prejudice

My favourite character is Mrs. Bennett – this remarkable character sent me off into peals of laughter. Then of course it’s Elizabeth Bennett. I actually read this book and then discussed (and that was really fun we should do it again) it with Hannah@thewayofdelight, and she knows that I was up until 4am to finish this book. It is so so good. The middle is (a bit) slow which is the cause of my four-star-rating, but I still really enjoyed it.

Six of Crows 

It’s well-known that Six of Crows is (mostly) loved because of the characters (and I’m most certainly apart of that). The amazing and incredible characters. Definitely one of the best character-driven stories ever.


Which of these books are your favourite?

Speak soon!

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Character Driven Books”

  1. The Help and Six of Crows have made it on so many lists – I’m seriously kicking myself for not thinking of them!!! The crew in Six Of Crows was just amazing! I would love to hang out with them in a bar for just one day!
    Thanks for participating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment