Book Lists, no romance

Top 5 Romance-Free Books (THEY ACTUALLY EXIST IK) #2

Nothing frustrates me more than the thousands of YA books that all have sexual content in them. In fact, to find a good YA book without sexual content can be very rare. However, over my years of reading, I’ve come across some good ones. Unfortunately, quite a few of these are MG or MG borderline YA – but these are still good books that teens can totally enjoy!

Continue reading “Top 5 Romance-Free Books (THEY ACTUALLY EXIST IK) #2”
Book Reviews, islamic fiction, no romance

Musa and the Blade

Image result for musa and the blade

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ (I liked it!)

Goodreads

*Thank you to the author for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review* – I also realise there were some misconceptions in my review, so be sure to check the comments section as the author clears that up.

When an email popped up in my inbox asking if I’d be interested in reviewing a self-published Islamic-fiction book, as soon as I saw the words “Islamic-fiction” – trust me, I’d already made up my mind before I’d even read what the book was about. Which, in other cases may turn out to be a disaster, but in the case, it certainly was not so.

Continue reading “Musa and the Blade”
Classics, Discussions, no romance

Rereading Anne of Green Gables

IMG_2335
My battered but beloved copy!

Hello everyone! Now I know I’ve ranted so many times on this blog already about how AMAZING Anne of Green Gables is and how much I LOVE it – but Hannah over at The Way of Delight, along with my all-time love for this series, has inspired me to start a reread of this entire series. And of course I’m going to be filling you all in on this along the way!

I would also highly recommend checking out Hannah’s blog if you’re also an LMM fan because Hannah is too, and we’ve both bonded together multiple times of the sheer beauty of LMM’s work, and how much we just love Anne of Green Gables. So, on this post I’m going to be talking about what it’s like rereading this beautiful book for the fourth time…  Continue reading “Rereading Anne of Green Gables”

Book Reviews, no romance

FAVOURITE MG SERIES 🎉 – DON’T MISS OUT!

Absolutely no competition involved, I know exactly what the title is going to be. I’ve already made a couple of posts on this series but I just feel like it doesn’t have enough hype (NOT ENOUGH LOVE FOR IT IN THIS WORLD, THOUGH IM SURE MINE MAKES UP MORE THAN HALF)… (maybe it’s just like that for all books you love love love?)

Continue reading “FAVOURITE MG SERIES 🎉 – DON’T MISS OUT!”

Book Reviews, Mystery, no romance

Review – The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow Series

Related image

Title: the first book is called The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

The rest of the series:

Related image

Related image

Image result for the mystery of the clockwork sparrow

Author: Katherine Woodfine

Genres: MG (Middle Grade) mystery

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

BlurbYou are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store!
Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villians to justice…

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Chris Riddell and Enid Blyton.


This book is such an enjoyable book. The setting. The characters. The plot. EVERYTHING IS SO BEAUTIFUL.

things I liked about it:

  • it was really well-written
  • the whole setting!! Sinclair’s department store is sooo lovely to read about!
  • the characters (Sophie… and Lil!!)
  • the plot (ahhh.. it will suck you right in)

“I commend you on your efforts. Really I do. You have surprised me, and that does not happen very often.”

Sophie Taylor is someone you can relate to from the beginning, and Lil (Lillian) Rose is a very likeable character too.

“I’m going to be a fortune hunter!’ – Lil
‘I beg your pardon?’ – Sophie

The plot will suck you right in from the very beginning. The characters and setting are well developed. The writing is beautiful.

Also, for those of you who prefer books like this, it has hardly any romance. It is not often I am whirled into a gorgeously casted setting with a constantly spiralling plot engulfed with a lovely writing style.

I have currently only read the first two books, I need to read The Painted Dragon (it’s even on my Kindle bookshelf, I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet) and The Midnight Peacock has just been released.

This is definitely a series you want to be apart of!


Let me know – have you read this series before? If not, are you planning on reading it?

Also… aren’t the book covers STUNNING?!

Book Reviews, Mystery, no romance

Review – Scarlet and Ivy series

Scarlet and Ivy series

Image result for scarlet and ivy series

Title: The Lost Twin (#1), The Whispers in the Walls (#2), The Dance in the Dark (#3) and The Lights under the Lake (#4)

Author: Sophie Cleverly

Genres: MG (Middle Grade) mystery

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Blurb (for the first book): Ivy, I pray that it’s you reading this. And if you are, well, I suppose you’re the new me…

When shy Ivy’s troublemaking twin Scarlet vanishes from Rookwood boarding school, Ivy is invited to “take her place.” But when Ivy arrives, she discovers the school’s true intention; she has to pretend to be Scarlet. She must think like Scarlet, act like Scarlet, become Scarlet. What on earth happened to the real Scarlet, and why is the school trying to keep it a secret?

Luckily for Ivy, Scarlet isn’t about to disappear without a fight. She’s left pieces of her journal carefully hidden all over the school for Ivy to find. Ivy’s going to figure out what happened to Scarlet. She’s got to.

But the staff of Rookwood is always watching, and they’ll do anything to keep their secrets buried…

Now, if you think this book is only for those below thirteen years old, you. are. so. wrong.

Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 18.00.02

Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 18.00.30

“Where are your manners, Miss Grey?”
“Probably in the same place where you left yours.” –The Dance in the Dark, Sophie Cleverly

This book was actually a bit of a surprise for me, because I did come into this book (the first one) with the initial expectation that it was going to be a tad childish and cheesy, or something in between.

“Ivy, I pray that it’s you reading this.
And if you are, well, I suppose you’re the new me…” –The Dance in the Dark, Sophie Cleverly

I was completely blown away! It was so intriguing! I also loved the characters – Ivy and Ariadne are both really likeable people, and they’re pretty relatable too at times. Slight spoiler>Scarlet too<

“I can pick this… My governess used to shut me in the airing cupboard when I wouldn’t do my sums. But I was resourceful!” -Ariadne, The Dance in the Dark, Sophie Cleverly

I read the first three books in this series one after the other in a month, and it was one very enjoyable month, I’ll tell you that. I don’t want to talk too much about it, because otherwise there will be a lot of spoilers coming your way.

But I will tell you, that this series is amazing, and I’m looking forward to reading the next book I need to get to in the series, The Lights Under the Lake.


Have you read this book before? What did you think of it? If you haven’t read it before, do you want to now?

Also, if you’re sure that this is not going to be the type of book for you/you’re age then why not recommend it to someone who you think will like this book?

Speak soon!

Book Reviews, Mystery, no romance

Review – The Mysterious Benedict Society

The Mysterious Benedict Society

Image result for the mysterious benedict society series

Title: The Mysterious Benedict Society

Author: Trenton Lee Stewart

Genres: MG (Middle Grade) Mystery

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Blurb: “Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?”

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they’ll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you’re gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

“If we’re just trying to be accurate, then how about ‘The Doomed to Fail Bunch’?” said Constance. “Honestly! We can’t even name ourselves.”

Genre: From Goodreads: fiction, mystery, adventure, a tinge of fantasy

Here’s what Common Sense Media says about it:

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 17.45.41.png

OHHH MYYY GOSHHH.

These books are AMAZING! Even now, years later after reading it (I read it when I was ten) I still love them. And I just got someone I know who’s 12 to read them, and she loved them too. And I just got someone who’s 15 to read them, and she loved them even more!

And I feel like these are one of the books that just aren’t famous enough! So spread the word, people!

It’s just… SUCH. A. GOOD. PLOT. Seriously.

“The missing aren’t missing, they’re only departed,
All minds keep all thoughts – so like gold – closely guarded,”

And 0% romance. Not even a tiny kiss. Sorry romantic-readers, you’re going to have to look elsewhere, for this one.

“Everything is as it should be.”

But for those of you who crave epic adventures with an awesome squad, if you haven’t read this book yet, WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING WITH YOUR LIFE, LADY (or guy).

And it’s not just that… it’s sooooo funny! Even after reading it for what, the third time, I still laugh over it. And books like that, where it’s just so… meaningful to you, it’s like your own memories… it’s just precious, that’s what.

“Children are capable of such open rudeness.”

“Poor Kate,” said Constance, “she’s lost her marbles.”

“You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn’t depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.” –

  • FANTASTICALLY AMAZINGLY BRILLIANTLY BEAUTIFUL PLOT
  • Characters you will LOVE
  • There are so many hilarious moments
  • There are so many memorable moments (the whole book, and even more for the whole four books)
  • It’s the perfect way to depart on a funny, memorable, well-written rollercoaster ride of an adventure while lazing on your sofa

And hey, Rick Riordan even read it!

Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 17.42.03.png

And if you don’t know who he is, I am seriously concerned for your well-being as a bookworm. Luckily, you have me to help you out 🙂 (click on the link of his name or here)

 


In short, this is 100% a book worth reading. And everyone I’ve recommended it to and read it have agreed with me too.

Have you read this book, if so, what did you think of it? Are you planning on reading this book anytime soon, if you haven’t?