Book Reviews, Mystery, thriller

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Image result for the 7 1/2 deaths of evelyn hardcastle

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

W O W.

I did not expect this. Not at all. I kind of skim-read the blurb, looked at all the high ratings, flicked through some reviews, added it to my TBR, then saw it on OverDrive and thought I might as well download it and give it a try.

I had no idea what I was getting myself involved in. This book is an absolute masterpiece, and every detail – from the amazing writing, to the careful thought on the technicalities of the fantasy element, to the increasing suspense and the narrator’s personality and humour… is MAGNIFICENT.

Five stars does not do this book justice. I mean it.

Continue reading “The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle”
Book Reviews, Mystery, YA fantasy

The Unbound (The Archived #2) by Victoria Schwab

Image result for the unboundTitle: The Unbound (The Archived #2)

Author: Victoria Schwab

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books. Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Last summer, Mackenzie Bishop, a Keeper tasked with stopping violent Histories from escaping the Archive, almost lost her life to one. Now, as she starts her junior year at Hyde School, she’s struggling to get her life back. But moving on isn’t easy — not when her dreams are haunted by what happened. She knows the past is past, knows it cannot hurt her, but it feels so real, and when her nightmares begin to creep into her waking hours, she starts to wonder if she’s really safe.

Meanwhile, people are vanishing without a trace, and the only thing they seem to have in common is Mackenzie. She’s sure the Archive knows more than they are letting on, but before she can prove it, she becomes the prime suspect. And unless Mac can track down the real culprit, she’ll lose everything, not only her role as Keeper, but her memories, and even her life. Can Mackenzie untangle the mystery before she herself unravels?

With stunning prose and a captivating mixture of action, romance, and horror, The Unbound delves into a richly imagined world where no choice is easy and love and loss feel like two sides of the same coin


See my review for the first book here.

OHHH MYYY GOSHHH. I finished this book in one day. One day. That being the day I finished The Archived. I just sat down and read for six hours straight. That, is how good this book is. It is so much more action-packed than the first book (although I still love The Archived!).

The plot is absolutely magnificent. Some people find it slow in the beginning, or boring in general, but I genuinely did not. Everything was captivating and intriguing. This book is smart. I love all the flashbacks to Da, and all the questioning – of her past, the present, and the future. 

There is definitely a lot of doubt in this book. I found myself questioning everything more and more the deeper I went in. There are a lot of other alternatives to what could have happened, and that just makes it more gripping. I know with every book its like anything can happen, and I felt this very keenly with this book. The suspense was pretty much unbearable towards the ending. 

The charactersss… Mackenzie, Wes, Owen, Roland. Mackenzie. But to be honest, as much as I love Mackenzie, my favourite is still Guyliner. He’s just so amazing, basically. I also really like Roland (I mean who doesn’t?). I was debating the role of Mackenzie’s parents a lot. Like, were they bad parents in their ignorance, and believing all the lies? Or was it simply that Mackenzie was so good at what she did?

I’ll have to say it’s a bit of both. I understand that the parents may have had a lot of trust installed in their daughter, and she is definitely responsible and sensible in general, in that aspect. But also, they’re her parents. They should have been more aware of the lies, but also, this may not be fair since Mackenzie has been lying since a very young age, and even when things began to speed up considerably, they were distracted with their new lives.

There are so many twists to this book. You know that moment where you read a shocking line in a book and you’re just reading it over and over unable to comprehend it? Well, that moment happened quite a few times throughout this book. Definitely not a read you’d want to miss.

So, did you think that Mackenzie’s parents were bad parents? Which is your favourite character, Mackenzie or Guyliner? (AND WHO CAN ABSOLUTELY NOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK AND THINK ITS ABSOLUTE TORTURE THAT IT ISNT COMING OUT FOR YEARS YET?!)

Speak soon!

Book Reviews, Mystery, no romance

Review – The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow Series

Related image

Title: the first book is called The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

The rest of the series:

Related image

Related image

Image result for the mystery of the clockwork sparrow

Author: Katherine Woodfine

Genres: MG (Middle Grade) mystery

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

BlurbYou are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store!
Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villians to justice…

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Chris Riddell and Enid Blyton.


This book is such an enjoyable book. The setting. The characters. The plot. EVERYTHING IS SO BEAUTIFUL.

things I liked about it:

  • it was really well-written
  • the whole setting!! Sinclair’s department store is sooo lovely to read about!
  • the characters (Sophie… and Lil!!)
  • the plot (ahhh.. it will suck you right in)

“I commend you on your efforts. Really I do. You have surprised me, and that does not happen very often.”

Sophie Taylor is someone you can relate to from the beginning, and Lil (Lillian) Rose is a very likeable character too.

“I’m going to be a fortune hunter!’ – Lil
‘I beg your pardon?’ – Sophie

The plot will suck you right in from the very beginning. The characters and setting are well developed. The writing is beautiful.

Also, for those of you who prefer books like this, it has hardly any romance. It is not often I am whirled into a gorgeously casted setting with a constantly spiralling plot engulfed with a lovely writing style.

I have currently only read the first two books, I need to read The Painted Dragon (it’s even on my Kindle bookshelf, I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet) and The Midnight Peacock has just been released.

This is definitely a series you want to be apart of!


Let me know – have you read this series before? If not, are you planning on reading it?

Also… aren’t the book covers STUNNING?!